EN388 Explanation

Sep 3 2021

EN388 Explanation

Our gloves provide their users with a great solution to clarify communication in your operations and on your sites. However, we know that our customers (you) need the gloves to do more than just this.

They need to provide protection against the various cut, abrasion and puncture risks present throughout the waste industry.

That’s why we certify our whole range under the BSI EN388:2016+A1:2018 - Protective gloves against mechanical risks standard.

Bit of a mouthful, isn’t it??

EN388 (as it’s more commonly known) certifies gloves for protection against abrasion, cut, tear, puncture and impact risks.

The best way to check a gloves suitability using this standard is to use the rating each glove is given when certified.

The rating a glove is given is generated from its performance under 6 different tests.  These are:

  1. Martindale Abrasion Test – This tests the gloves protective properties to abrasion. A rating between “1” and “4” is provided with a rating of “4” giving the most protection.
  2. Coupe Cut Test - This tests the protection against cut risks. A rating between “1” and “5” is provided with “5” being the highest rating. However, if the blade used blunts during the test, then it is stopped and automatically awarded an “X” rating (or a failure). This generally happens after the stage where a “3” rating is awarded but before a “4” rating; this means that practically the highest a glove can get under this test is a “3”.
  3. Tensile Test - This calculates a rating for protection from tear risks. A rating between “1” and “4” is provided with a rating of “4” being the highest.
  4. Compression Test – Protection from puncture risks is certified using this test. This provides the gloves with a rating of between “1” and “4”, again “4” is the most protection.
  5. ISO Cut Test - This also looks at cut risks. A rating between “A” and “F” is given based on the amount of force is needed to cut through the glove.
  6. Domed Anvil Impact Test – This is an optional test that looks at protection from impact risks. It is a pass/fail test with a pass being noted by a “P” at the end of rating

A typical rating looks like this:


Each separate rating is listed in the order we have explained each test above. The above rating does not have a sixth rating as it was not tested (or failed) for impact protection.

If you've got any questions, then get in touch! We’re real humans and we love to speak to people. 

You can call us on 01443 743398 or email us at sales@stop-n-go.co.uk.